THE Australian Society of Travel Writers ( is pleased to that Visit USA have come on board as the sponsor for this year’s coveted Travel Writer of the Year award. Visit USA sponsored the 2017 award, won by Catherine Marshall.

Visit USA ( is a voluntary body that promotes travel to the United States of America. It is funded by individual members from the Australian Travel Trade as well as from associate members in the USA. The Board Members of the organisation work vigorously to promote the US as a desirable destination of choice.

The Travel Writer of the Year is Awarded to the writer member with the best portfolio of three published travel stories for the judging period. It is the most coveted of the 20 awards presented at the ASTW’s Travel Journalism Awards for Excellence, an annual celebration of outstanding travel writing, photography, and tourism communications.

Established in 1992, this is a closely contested competition among peers, focusing on the very best published work of the year. Recognition of talent, a coveted trophy and prizes are the rewards for the winners.

Visit USA will be sponsoring the award along with a prize, which will see the winner gain entry to the Brand USA visiting journalist program.

The 2018 awards will be presented at the annual ASTW Convention in Thailand in August.

For more information about sponsoring awards, lunches or events; attending events as a member’s guest or for membership enquiries, please visit our website for more information or contact secretariat Justine White on

Hiking in Tombstone Territorial Park in the Yukon, Canada.