Following the detection of the new, more infectious strain in several countries, many governments have begun closing their borders to nationals from countries where the new variant of the virus has been detected.

Emirates has suspended passenger flights to and from South Africa and several other Southern African countries until further notice.

The other countries that will not be allowed to travel into Dubai since Saturday are:

  • Botswana
  • Eswatini
  • Lesotho
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Zimbabwe
  • Zambia

“Affected customers do not need to call us immediately for rebooking. Customers can simply hold on to their Emirates ticket and when flights resume, get in touch with their travel agent or booking office to make new travel plans,” the airline said.

“Emirates regrets any inconvenience caused.”

Meanwhile, Air France has cancelled its flights from Johannesburg to Paris.

“Flights to and from SA are cancelled on Saturday November 27 and Sunday November 28.

“Air France is waiting for the conditions applicable from November 29, 2021,” the airline said.

“Air France teams at airports and customer relations centres are mobilised to assist customers wishing to modify or postpone their trips.”

South African researchers found a new mutant of the Coronavirus called “Omicron,” which is multi-mutated and can be highly contagious, sparking worldwide alarm and resulting in the cancellation of numerous international flights.

Joe Cusmano

Joe Cusmano is the Editor of Stray Nomad. Having spent 30 years in the airline’s industry and having lived in 8 countries and 5 continents he is a true stray nomad and a jet fuel junkie who loves travel. He is a coffee and shopping addict and a lover of modern art.